“If winter comes, can spring be far behind?”

Hasn’t this question been on everyone’s lips the past few days? (in case you were wondering, it’s a quote by Percy Bysshe Shelley) I had such a totally heartwarming time creating these beauties with Year 4 children from Cavendish School in Camden last week. It’s a school I’ve enjoyed working with over many years, culminating in a whole school Four Seasons project in 2007 where I jumbled my words at the opening ceremony with “I’d like to spank you”, a quote my husband is quick to remind me of whenever I go back to work there! I loved the children’s creative spark – they were so responsive and had a tremendous amount of energy and took time to create delicate touches in some of these stylistic flowers. For this session I worked alongside the science teacher so as part of the planning I incorporated basic botany, touching on nature’s functional design of flowers (pollination, guidelines for pollinators) and also on the microscopic appearance of  fleece and felting as an irreversible material change.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

