Clean messy play

Felting with early years children is always wonderful  – it allows the children to freely explore texture and play with colour, and their depth of involvment is satisfying. When I say texture I am including little people’s endless fascination with foamy bubbles and this proved to be as true as ever when I worked with two Reception classes at St Marks Primary School in Hanwell. The theme was open-ended but time was squeezed so I decided to use needlepunch felt which I cut into these cream colour squares for a more immediate impact. I showed the children how to pull tiny strands of fleece to use in their design. Each child worked independently to arrange their colours then they placed their squares onto bubble wrap before rubbing them with soapy fingers till it all satisfyingly tangled together.

I ate my sandwiches next to the Grand Union Canal on a perfect Autumn afternoon. I never knew there was so much beauty in Hanwell.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

